A giveaway? Why yes, I think that would be a good idea.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I came to the stunning realization today, after writing things in the calendar and fretting about how I would afford the shocking price tags on school supplies and school clothes and school shoes and school programs and school activities and all things related to the well-rounded education of my darling children that it hit me.

I have less than seven weeks until this book comes out.

Dear god. Or gods. Or possibly-devine-entities currently peering through the vapors at my lost, lost soul. Whatever.

In any case, I panicked, of course. And then I whined on Twitter and Facebook for a while and got advice from friends much smarter than I am. And while I sit down and actually hatch a plan, I figured, since I have an ARC or two in my possession, that I should organize a giveaway.

So here it is!

Between now and September 11 (which, by the way, in addition to being a Day of Somber Reflection also happens to be the day upon which my other book, THE MOSTLY TRUE STORY OF JACK, comes out on paperback. Yippee!) I’m hosting a giveaway of two copies of the ARC of IRON HEARTED VIOLET. Both of these I will sign and will also include another little goodie inside that is SOOPER SEEKRIT, so you’ll just have to enter to find out what it is.

Enter today, enter tomorrow, enter next week. I don’t want to make a big thing about it – it’s your schedule, after all. But don’t wait too long, otherwise, I’ll just have to give these copies away to myself, and that would stink.

For those of you who look at my situation and laugh and laugh and make fun of how unbearably disorganized I am, I’m curious: How do you ramp up to publication day? What should I be doing to make sure I am not doomed to failure forever? And what do you do to keep the pesky anxiety at bay – because it does not do to be ushering a beloved book into the wide world and suddenly come down with a case of the crazies. It doesn’t do at all.

2 thoughts on “A giveaway? Why yes, I think that would be a good idea.

  1. I don’t think you’re disorganized at all. I think you’re lucky. What you are doing is a bit of extra marketing for your book. Marketing on top of whatever marketing your publisher is doing to get your book onto bookshelves, and hopefully sold by the metric ton. There’s no way you can do all the heavy lifting alone, and I don’t think anyone is expecting you to, with the possible exception of yourself. If I was in your shoes I’d be nervous as a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs. That kind of stuff is normal. Perhaps with many years and lots of practice it’ll get easier to tone down the internal tumult. I don’t know. If I’m ever lucky enough to get to that position, I’ll tell you.

Comments are closed.