Because I Am A Joiner (And Because I Think SOPA Sucks)

This blog will be going dark as of midnight, January 18, in protest of the proposed SOPA legislation. For more information about the bill, and why it matters to you, me, our neighbors, our kids, and the future of the untrammeled and unfettered transfer of information, ideas, creativity and opinions online, go here for more information.

This really is a big deal, you guys. Like any other piece of legislation, the devil is in the details. While I understand the need for creative professionals to make money, I think that turning the government into the Ultimate Arbiter and Unquestioned Czar of what we are or are not allowed to see online is, was, and will always be a Bad Idea. And if you have any delusions that handing that much power to an unelected body will not, one day, come round and bite us all in the collective ass…..well, I hate to break it to you, honey, but it surely will.

So. No content here tomorrow. Come back on Thursday. I will miss you in the interim.

In the meantime, I hope all of you enjoy your internet-free day tomorrow. I will be slogging my way through copy-edits of IRON HEARTED VIOLET and will be knocking a couple chapters out on WITLESS NED AND THE SPEAKING STONES and generally keeping myself out of trouble.

See you all on the flip side.

Love,

Kelly

One thought on “Because I Am A Joiner (And Because I Think SOPA Sucks)

Comments are closed.