Lovecrafty Goodness

So, like all good fantasists, I owe a massive literary debt to Lovecraft (and Marquez, Borges, the brothers Grimm, Andrew Lang, and storytelling grandmas since the beginning of time – but I digress). While the modern reader will find his work terribly dated – and will find the author himself terribly flawed – his skillful co-mingling of the sublime and the sinister, the beautiful and the damned, as well as his storyteller’s insistence of the undercurrent of power that pulses mercilessly against the skin of the known world, inspires me and others every damn day.

And not just writers.

One of the great things about this ever so modern world in which we know inhabit is the explosion of creativity outside of corporatized entertainment machines. Storytelling and music and art-making and scads of other creative endeavors have been democratized, and the content middlemen that have, during the last century, separated the producers of art from the consumers of art – the people who have declared “what the people want” and have manipulated both producer and audience into making and consuming exactly what the people do not want, thank you very much – are slowly and inexorably going away. And for most of them, good riddance. I would much rather buy music directly from the musicians I like than wade through the crud in the CD store. Similarly, the artistic success of Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog proved once and for all that you don’t need television companies to make something good enough to induce tears of happiness in hapless viewers. (indeed, all too often, the studios are an anathema to good storytelling)

So, Youtube. Love it. I could write sonnets to youtube. It has – along with other video sites – gestated and nurtured this growing creative movement, and I will appreciate it forever.

But. Back to Lovecraft.

On Youtube, there are somewhere around eight b’stillion Lovecraft-inspired videos that delight and continue to delight.

Here’s one. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Lovecrafty Goodness

  1. YIKES! I think it was a little early in the morning to watch that! I am always amazed by visual artists and how they create drama. Thanks for sharing–that’s something I don’t think I would have found on my own.

    • Indeed! Perhaps I should put a “don’t watch this in the morning or in the dark” disclaimer – of course, all Lovecraft books should have that disclaimer.

      Sill, that little piece is so visually arresting, I’m just so glad that a forum exists to give it an audience.

      And I totally want that guy to do my book trailer. If I do a book trailer.

Comments are closed.