Duplicity

Saw the movie Duplicity last night, and I can’t decide if I’d actually recommend it to anyone. I mean, I’m a firm believer that the simple addition of beer can make any movie marvelous, especially if the children are asleep. And it’s always fun watching Clive Owen kiss various people.

Clive Owen!

Anyhoo, it was clear that in some meeting or another a colossal battle ensued, pitting the Forget The Backstory camp against the Rate Of Revelation Be Damned! contingent. The latter won. And while it was interesting to see how the backstory can be woven into the meat of the story like little musical interludes, it took away the mystery. I didn’t want to know who was working for and with whom. I wanted to be surprised.

And even the big surprise at the end wasn’t as surprising as all that. I mean, I called it, and I’m pretty damn thick, you know?

Still, that first scene with Paul Giamatti and Tom Wilkinson duking it out in the rain was pretty damn awesome. So much fun watching a couple of pasty, pudgy white dudes punching the spit out of each other.

4 thoughts on “Duplicity

  1. Not a fan of Duplicity either. Per se. I liked parts of it a great deal. I love the leads–in other things, and even this. I do think the odd structure became, as you put it, a bit obvious.

    Hilarious of you about the opening.

  2. Yeah, it’s hard to hate a movie with an opening that kicks that much ass. Still. Why be obvious? I couldn’t tell if it was lazy writing or lazy directing or making allowances for a lazy audience. I fear the latter, and that kinda pisses me off. I don’t like being talked down to as a general rule.

    Still. That sequence. Friggin brilliant.

Comments are closed.